“Don’t Move, Dirtbag!” Police Academy (1984)

Today’s review is of a great comedy that I rewatched over this last holiday weekend; Police Academy. Police Academy was originally released in 1984 and was #6 out of the top domestic movies of that year, falling right behind The Karate Kid and Gremlins. It’s gross was a total of $81,198,894 domestically.

"Son, where did you get this gun?"  "My mom gave it to me,"  Tackleberry happily observes his .44 Magnum while Cpt. Harris looks on.
“Son, where did you get this gun?”
“My mom gave it to me,”
Tackleberry happily observes his .44 Magnum while Cpt. Harris looks on.

This film hit a bulls-eye in the comedy department. It’s simply hilarious. With a cast featuring George Gaynes (Commandant Lassard), Steve Guttenburg (Cadet Mahoney), and Bubba Smith (Cadet Hightower), this film is sure to have you in stitches. There’s not a really serious moment in the entire film.

Cpt. Harris (GW Bailey) shortly before accidentally discharging a flintlock pistol.
Cpt. Harris (GW Bailey) shortly before accidentally discharging a flintlock pistol.

As much as I would love to give this movie a ten out of ten, I must take into account the fact that many scenes and jokes in it make the film unsuitable for anyone under the age of 13. I’ve giving it a 8 out of 10.

Leave a comment